It has been exactly one week since I launched the organisation and I am quite pleased with what we have achieved so far.

We have managed 400 hits on our website.

70 members on our facebook page.

And I have managed to raise Rs33,240 for the animals of Meerut! Our target is (Rs500,000).

I am overwhelmed by the kindess and generosity of people who were strangers to me last week and have kindly come forward to help contribute towards the building of the shelter. Thanks so much once again.

On the other hand, as I am getting deeper into animal welfare, I have come across the opposite as well. Too many people inflicting cruelty upon the helpless creatures that are not able to defend themselves. Please see below a link from PETA’s website showing animals that are killed for their fur. I must warn you that it is very disturbing.

http://blog.peta.org/archives/2010/06/the_video_youtube_banned.php?c=cfpyt0610

Another story I read today was about a pet dog in the UK. According to RSPCA’s facebook page, a dog was thrown into the Leeds and Liverpool canal with a weighted -down rucksack tied to him. The rough-haired terrier was found floating face down. The dog was micro-chipped which lead the RSPCA to his owners.”They had put him outside in the garden at around 7am that morning. Naturally they’re very upset about what’s happened,” said inspector Barr. The dog was called ‘Freddie’ and was just 18-months old. He’s described as mostly black, with a white stomach and tan patches on his face and legs. The rucksack was purple with black straps and a red ‘Head’ logo on it.
Anyone who saw anything suspicious or has any information that could help should call the RSPCA cruelty line on 0300 1234 999. Inspector Barr added: “We don’t want them to get away with this. This dog has suffered an awful death and someone is responsible for that. Please, if you think you can help, call us.”

I read the above about two hours ago and I still feel physically ill thinking about it. How can anyone in their right mind even attempt to do something like this. This is just one story and I get to read at least one every day from all parts of the world.

That is motivation in itself to continue what I have set out to do.

